I Have To Come Clean.

I have to come clean. I threw out “Grapes of Wrath”. No, not literally. I had to take it out the reading list. Along with it, I was reading Job this summer. Coupled with some family stuff, and “Grapes of Wrath” was just not happening this summer. No matter how hard I tried, I just couldn’t get past reading about red dust.

But, it did allow me to think more deeply about what I want to get out of this reading project. It made me go back to my favorite type of story: Coming-of-age stories. The Twenties are such a place of change and transition. I’m not sure if that’s reason that I find myself gravitating to those type of stories on the wide screen, but there’s something about walking with characters from Confusion, Stress, Conflict to a (relative) state of stability and growth that seems meaningful. So, I’m working on my reading list to reflect just that.

More to come.

Leave a Reply

