Life of Pi: A will to Live

Life of Pi, Done. Read. Processed.

First Line: My suffering left me sad and gloomy. 

First Impression: I actually didn’t have an accurate first impression of the book because I hadn’t read it. I remember some girls reading it for their AP Literature, the summer before our Senior Year.

Synopsis: A young Indian boy is trapped on the Pacific ocean…with an adult-sized Bengal tiger. For 7 months!

Connection: I think I’ve only been to the zoo twice in my entire life. However, having read this book, I want to go. I guess my connection to Life of Pi has to do with the Spiritual component of the book. Pi is a character who gets attracted to God at a very young age. In fact, without his parents’ knowledge, he embraces Hinduism, Christianity AND Islam. Confronted by all the spiritual leaders one day and forced to choose, he utters the most innocent reply: “I just want to love God”. Even when the chances of his survival dwindled down during those 7 months, he continued to pray. As someone who was curious and attracted to God at a very young age, I related to his desire to know God.

Lasting memory: “I had to stop hoping so much that a ship would rescue me. I should not count on outside help. Survival had to start with me. In my experience, a castaway’s worst mistake is to hope too much and do too little. Survival starts by paying attention to what is close at hand and immediate. To look out with idle hope is tantamount to dreaming one’s life away. There was much I had to do.” (Life of Pi, pg. 169)

3 responses

  1. So that’s what Life of Pi is about. Definitely getting this one!

  2. You should definitely get it, Kristel. I would say, it was: more interesting, harder to get through, more graphic, more puzzling yet more satisfying to finish than I ever thought. I’d love to hear what you think of it, when you’re done.

  3. […] upon a time, I had a blog where I read classics and talked about them. I might pick those books back up again. It was during this time that I read Life of Pi. I remember […]

Leave a Reply

