We love it: Kickstarter

I think Google should add a third button under its search bar. It would read: Google Search, I’m Feeling Lucky and I’m Feeling Generous. The I’m Feeling Generous button would be linked to sites like Kiva.org and Kickstarter so that, on days when you’re feeling down or you start to lose trust in the human race, you can click on it and help someone get a tiny bit closer to their dream. Because it is true what they say: There are more blessings in giving than in receiving.

Kickstarter is an online platform that allows creatives to crowdfund their projects. In other words, they invite others to be a part of their work by trading “a piece of the real estate” for financial support. You can check out projects by Location, Category or by Popularity. We love Kickstarter because as Yann Martel mentions in his foreword of Life of Pi: “If we, citizens, do not support our artists, then we sacrifice our imagination on the altar of crude reality and we end up believing in nothing and having worthless dreams”. Here are a few  projects that’s caught our eye recently.

1. I grew up on series like Asterix and Obelix and the Adventures of Tintin. So, when I came across Penny and Bobby, it didn’t take long to convince me. I found myself getting excited like I did years ago, when I got ahold of my first animated book series. Plus, you’re never too old to enjoy mythological adventures. No, you can’t convince me otherwise.

2. What determines success or failure on the road to Change? This documentary asks this very question. I don’t know about you, but I’m curious of the answer…or answers. There are only 11 days to go!

3. Another project about lighting a fire under your behind. Anyone else can relate to the whole “quiet desperation” thing? Did I really catch a glimpse of Danielle Laporte in that trailer? Chris Guillebeau?  I want to see this in a movie theater! Only 5 dollars and you get a digital download. Say whaaa?

4. A guide to Multicultural London. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t curious. Wanderlust, take me away! 19 days to go on this one.

5. Bonus! This project is all funded, but I thought it’s worth mentioning anyway. When Christina Mercado couldn’t find a job after grad school, she turned lemons into lemonade by writing an adult “children’s” book about the process of finding a job. I want a copy!

What projects have you helped fund? What projects would you help fund?
Leave a Reply

